Breaking News
  1. Welcome to all our families, members, supporters and friends.
  2. Player registrations are now open.
  3. Join our great social events - see What's On below.
  4. Sponsor the Tigers. Great value packages available now.

Club Formation

St Bedes/Mentone Tigers A.F.C. was formed in late 1992 from an amalgamation of three clubs: St Bedes O.C.F.C. who were affiliated with both the V.A.F.A. and the M.S.J.F.L.; Mentone Football Club which was a member of the Southern Football League; and Mentone Junior Football Club, a member of the M.S.J.F.L.

In the first season of the merged club, 1993, the senior team won the VAFA D Section Premiership capping off a memorable year.

Mentone FC was originally formed in 1904 and as such the club celebrated its centenary during 2004.

St. Bedes OCFC was formed in 1963 and competed initially in the YCW League before joining the VAFA in 1972 and playing continually in the Amateurs through to 1993.

Mentone FC competed successfully in the Federal Football League and then the Southern Football League prior to 1993.

In its first year the club fielded Senior, Reserves and Under 19’s in the V.A.F.A.  and six junior sides in the M.S.J.F.L.;  winning the D Grade V.A.F.A. premiership against Old Geelong.  The Under 13 side won the combined club’s first premiership in the M.S.J.F.L.

The leadership of John Meyer as the club’s inaugural President and Mark Tyquin the senior coach laid the foundation for the future.  The amalgamation only occurred due to the perseverance of the following people who should be acknowledged for their foresight.

Michael Atherton, Dale Collins & John Meyer (St Bedes O.C.F.C.),   Peter Davis  (Mentone F.C.) and Phil Sierakowski   (Mentone JFC)