Breaking News
  1. Welcome to all our families, members, supporters and friends.
  2. Player registrations are now open.
  3. Join our great social events - see What's On below.
  4. Sponsor the Tigers. Great value packages available now.

William ‘Bill’ Groves Memorial Trophy  – Club Champion Best & Fairest

Bill was a long time committee member and helper of the Mentone FC from the early 1960’s through to 1976. A Vice President of the club for many years, he played a major part in ensuring the financial security of the club through his work with the finance and social committees.

Bill won the Best Club Person award in 1965 and was honoured with Life Membership of the club in 1970 in recognition of his services.

The Mentone FC Senior Best and Fairest trophy was awarded in his honour after his death and this tradition was continued following the formation of St.Bedes/Mentone Tigers AFC in 1993.


Recipients Bill Groves Memorial Trophy

1993  Tim Beasley 1993  Dale Diggins 1994  Peter Lannan
1995  Adam Thompson 1996  Tony Macgeorge 1997  Tony Macgeorge
1998  Tim Beasley 1998  Tony Macgeorge 1998  Steven Zakic
1999  Tim Beasley 2000  Tim Beasley 2001  Luke Wintle
2002  Michael Wintle 2003  Sam Hecker 2004  Paul Wintle
2005  Michael Wintle 2006  Sam Anstey 2007  Ben Phibbs
2008  Luke Wintle 2008  Sam Anstey 2009  Ben Phibbs
2010  James Tyquin 2011  Jack Hellier 2012  Patrick Kean
2013  Tom Doherty 2014  Patrick Tyquin 2015  Patrick Tyquin
2016  Christopher Mangoni 2017  Michael Barnes 2018  Michael Barnes
2019  Kye Beveridge