Breaking News
  1. Welcome to all our families, members, supporters and friends.
  2. Player registrations are now open.
  3. Join our great social events - see What's On below.
  4. Sponsor the Tigers. Great value packages available now.

E.J. ‘Ted’ Turner Memorial Trophy  – Most Courageous Player

Ted played with Mentone in the late 1930’s and had his football career interrupted with enlistment for service in the Second World War. Ted returned to play 16 games for North Melbourne between 1944-1946.

Suspended by the VFL for crossing without a clearance, Ted had an outstanding career with Brighton in the VFA, playing the 1948 premiership side and as captain-coach of the club in 1954 he won the J.J. Liston medal as the Best & Fairest player in the VFA.

Ted was vice captain of the VFA representative team in the Australian Football carnival and in 2000 was named centre half back in Brighton’s team of the century. This is barely a snapshot of the entire football career of Ted Turner Snr.

Ted’s family has subsequently had a strong influence in the club’s history with Bill a premiership coach with St. Bedes O.C, John a premiership player in the same team 30 years ago and Ted (Jnr) a player and senior coach with St. Bedes OC & St. Bedes/Mentone Tigers AFC and the family involvement goes on even further.

Recipients E.J. ‘Ted’ Turner Memorial Trophy

1990  Ted Turner 1991 TBE 1992  Tony Macgeorge
1993  Brad Berry 1994  Brett Donnellan 1995  Peter Lannan
1996  John Tully 1997  Peter Lannan 1998  Matthew McCraw
1999  Brad Tomlinson 2000  Tony Macgeorge 2001  Paul Wintle
2002  Matthew McCraw 2003  Matthew Terrell 2004  Michael Wintle
2005  James Connelly 2006  Anthony Scafidi 2007  Andrew Scafidi
2008  Paul Wintle 2009  Paul Wintle 2010  Luke Collins
2011  Simon Richards 2012  Simon Richards 2013  Simon Richards
2015  Simon Richards 2016 Daniel Garside 2017 Dean Porter
2018 Kye Beveridge 2019  Stuart Wines