Breaking News
  1. Welcome to all our families, members, supporters and friends.
  2. Player registrations are now open.
  3. Join our great social events - see What's On below.
  4. Sponsor the Tigers. Great value packages available now.

The Doug Patterson Perpetual Trophy  –  Best Team Player

Doug Patterson had a long and distinguished career as a player and administrator at the Mentone Football Club. A local boy, Doug was a diminutive rover, playing initially for the juniors during the 1920s, and then eventually breaking into the seniors, where he played in the 1st Mentone FC Premiership team in 1928.

He became a regular senior player featuring in the club’s losing Grand Final team in 1932. Doug played in the senior 1935 Premiership team and also won the Club Best and Fairest player award on two occasions.

A Life Member, patron, and generous benefactor to the club, Doug also served on the Committee and was a regular attendee at matches and social functions until well into his eighties. Doug is fondly remembered by all who knew him, as he personified the team spirit of the club he loved so much.

Recipients Doug Paterson Perpetual Trophy

1993  Peter Lannan 1994  Tim Bryant 1995  Michael Kinsella
1996  Brendan Beasley 1997  Stan Boczar 1998  Tony Giaquinta
1999  Matthew McCraw 2000  Matthew Connolly 2001  Matthew Connolly
2002  Paul Wintle 2003  Matthew Connolly 2004  Luke Wintle
2005  Nicholas Corda 2006  Paul Wintle 2007  Sam Hecker
2008  Jaryd Robertson 2008  Anthony Scafidi 2009  Anthony Scafidi
2010  Jack Hellier 2011  Luke Collins 2012  Michael Wintle
2013  Jaryd Robertson 2014  Samuel D’Andrea 2015  Thomas Garside
2016  Thomas Garside 2017  Thomas Tyquin 2018  Zac Calvez
2019  Lachlan Mirams 2019  Benjamin Dance